Connecting PyMC3 to external code - help with understanding Theano custom Ops

Hi! I’m new to PyMC3 and Theano, and hope you can help me with implementing a model that I’m struggling with. I think I’m misunderstanding something fundamental about Theano.

I am trying to use PyMC3 to sample a chisquare function to fit a model with some parameters to a data set. My chisquare calculation involves calls to an external program. Therefore, during each chisquare evaluation, I need to write the current parameters to file and call the external program. Following the PyMC3 docs, I have tried to implement this using a custom Theano Op: http://docs.pymc.io/advanced_theano.html

It works fine in the chisquare evaluation itself (in the perform() method of the Theano Op class). However, in the grad() method I run into trouble. When I try to write the contents of the input argument to file, it gives an error because the input is not a numpy array, but a Theano tensor. I see in the Theano docs (http://deeplearning.net/software/theano/extending/extending_theano.html#op-s-basic-methods) that this is how it’s meant to be:

For perform(), “inputs is a list of references to data which can be operated on using non-symbolic statements, (i.e., statements in Python, Numpy).”

While for grad(), “It takes two arguments inputs and output_gradients which are both lists of symbolic Theano Variables and those must be operated on using Theano’s symbolic language.”

My question is how to write inputs to file from inside the grad() method. What I’ve done so far is very hacky: I use a shared variable to keep the gradient, and update it every time perform() is called. Then grad() simply returns the current value of the shared variable. But I’m scared of this “solution”, because I suppose I can’t assume that perform() is always called with the same parameters right before grad()

Any help is greatly appreciated!