Bambi error: "cannot pickle 'fortran' object"

a = np.random.normal(6, 2.5, 160)
b = np.random.normal(8, 2, 120)
df = pd.DataFrame({“Group”: [“a”] * 160 + [“b”] * 120, “Val”: np.hstack([a, b])})
df

model_1 = bmb.Model(“Val ~ Group”, df)
results_1 = model_1.fit()

#I am a novice:
problem: even the simplest example from bambi gives the error: “cannot pickle ‘fortran’ object”. I reinstalled anaconda and pip installed bambi but did not correct error. I am new to pymc3 and bambi. Can anyone suggest a managable solution?
thanking you in advance. DD

Hello!

Could you share which versions of PyMC and Bambi you’re using?

You can do

import bambi as bmb
import pymc as pm

print("Bambi:", bmb.__version__)
print("PyMC": pm.__version__)

If import pymc as pm does not work, it may indicate you’re using pymc3. We encourage using the new version of PyMC, which is v4.

[quote=“tcapretto, post:2, topic:10858”]

`Thank you for your help.

I installed pymc with: ‘pip install pymc’`
then I imported:
import arviz as az
import bambi as bmb
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import numpy as np
import pandas as pd
import seaborn as sns
import pymc as pm

print(“Bambi:”, bmb.version)
print(“PyMC:”, pm.version)
gives:
Bambi: 0.9.1
PyMC: 4.3.0

then following the Bambi first example from the Bambi documentation:

Comparison of two means (T-test):

bambinos.github :frowning:Comparison of two means (T-test) — Bambi 0.9.1 documentation)

df = pd.DataFrame({“Group”: [“a”] * 160 + [“b”] * 120, “Val”: np.hstack([a, b])})
df.sample(10)

results_1 = model_1.fit()
this still gives:
‘cannot pickle ‘fortran’ object’ error.

If instead I
import pymc3 as pm

print(“Bambi:”, bmb.version)
print(“PyMC3:”, pm.version)
I get:
Bambi: 0.9.1
PyMC: 3.11.5
and then run the model, I still get the same error.
mayby I am not installing pymc correctly and the two versions are interferring with each other?