Can different samples be merged?

Sorry if it’s a too silly question, I’m a newbie in pymc3 and bayesian statistics. Just wondering if the results of sample can be combined to get a richer estimate of distribution. I’m asking because my experiment is very slow (high dimensional bayesian logistic regression based on categorical variables with many levels) so I was wondering if I can run it on several CPU’s in parallel and get the results of each sample combined after.
Thanks
Patrick

Maybe this can help?

As long as each CPU is running the same model with the same data (& same RNG, I suppose), it is equivalent to running multiple chains on the same CPU. So if you can spin up a bunch of boxes, you can sample many chains simultaneously, each one of which (ideally) represents samples from the same posterior.

You’ll have to manually stich these together into a MultiTrace if you want to check convergence statistics through pymc3; though this isn’t too difficult.

Thank you for your help to both of you @Hamster_on_wheels and @chartl, it’s very appreciated. I’m little bit confused though as it seems to say that I can partition my data by hand (chain 1 on CPU1, chain 2 on CPU 2, etc) and recombine them after but after reading the abstract of Expectation propagation paper, they seem to say it’s not that simple:

(…) the idea of distributed modeling and inference has both conceptual and computational appeal, but from the Bayesian perspective there is no general way of handling the prior distribution: if the prior is included in each separate inference, it will be multiply-counted when the inferences are combined; but if the prior is itself divided into pieces, it may not provide enough regularization for each separate computation, thus eliminating one of the key advantages of Bayesian methods.