Complex ordering mixture models

Hi there.

I’m hoping to make a more complex set of ordering relations than I think the ordered transform may be prepared to do.

First I’d like to figure out in the forward call for the ordered transform - what exactly is going on - to my understanding we’re subtracting the last column’s value (the largest)? from every other column. I’m not entirely sure how this prevents inbetween reorderings though or entirely what’s going on here but I’m a pymc newbie too.

Ultimately what I’m wanting to do is have a set of Mx2 normal distributions where the following ordering relations exist:

u[m,0] < u[m, 1]
u[m,0] < u[m+1, 0]
u[m,1] < u[m+1,1]

No ordering between u[m, 1] and u[m+1, 0] is guaranteed.

I’m not sure what I should try looking at ordered’s implementation, the general take on potential fields is they won’t work well for this - with this many relationships especially.

class Ordered(Transform):
    name = "ordered"

def __init__(self, ndim_supp=None):
        if ndim_supp is not None:
            warnings.warn("ndim_supp argument is deprecated and has no effect", FutureWarning)

def backward(self, value, *inputs):
        x = pt.zeros(value.shape)
        x = pt.set_subtensor(x[..., 0], value[..., 0])
        x = pt.set_subtensor(x[..., 1:], pt.exp(value[..., 1:]))
        return pt.cumsum(x, axis=-1)

def forward(self, value, *inputs):
        y = pt.zeros(value.shape)
        y = pt.set_subtensor(y[..., 0], value[..., 0])
        y = pt.set_subtensor(y[..., 1:], pt.log(value[..., 1:] - value[..., :-1]))
        return y

def log_jac_det(self, value, *inputs):
        return pt.sum(value[..., 1:], axis=-1)

The backward pass is the one that ensures you get ordered draws from unconstrained draws. The forward takes you from the constrained to the unconstrained