Custom PyTensor Op for Root-Finding with Multiple Inputs and Outputs

Hi all,

I am relatively new to PyMC and am still trying to understand, how everything works. For my current project I need to estimate a diffusion equation numerically as desribed here.
After trying different things in PyTensor and Aesara, I realized that I would need to write my own Op to run a root-finding algorithm, which can find the first 4 roots of the equation (23) in the cited work.

My implementation is:

import pymc as pm
import pytensor.tensor as at
from pytensor import *
from pytensor.graph.op import Op
from pytensor.graph.basic import Apply
from scipy.optimize import fsolve

def root_finder_loop_perform(D, Sf, Sb, thickness):
    # Define an Aesara expression for the function to be rooted
    def f(x, D, Sf, Sb, thickness):
        return np.tan(x*thickness*1e-7)+(D*(Sb + Sf)*x)/(Sf*Sb-D**2*x**2)

# Set up an array to store the roots for each value of a
    root_list = np.zeros((4))

# Loop over the values of a and find the roots
    # Set the initial guess for the root
    x = 100.
    b = 0
    # Loop over the first four roots
    while b < len(root_list):
        # Find the root using scipy.optimize.root
        sol = fsolve(f, x, args=(D,Sf,Sb, thickness))#, fprime=jac)

# Check if the root is unique and add it to the root list if it is
        if np.round(sol,0) not in np.round(root_list,0) and np.round(sol,0) > 0:
            root_list[b] = sol
            b += 1
        else:
            x = x*1.1

return np.array(root_list)

class RootFinder(Op):

def __init__(self, thickness):
        self.thickness = thickness

def make_node(self, D, Sf, Sb):
        outputs = [at.vector(dtype='float64')]
        return Apply(self, [D, Sf, Sb], outputs)

def perform(self, node, inputs, outputs_storage):
        D, Sf, Sb = inputs

root_list = root_finder_loop_perform(D, Sf, Sb, self.thickness)
        outputs_storage[0][0] = root_list

def grad(self, inputs, grads):