Dealing with Unbalanced Data with Minibatches

Hello,

I’m new to pymc and just looking for some guidance.

I’m currently attempting to build a simple logistic regression to predict the probability of a good (y=0) or bad (y=1) outcome. However my target is highly imbalanced; proportions are 2% - 1’s and 98% - 0’s, and my dataset is quite large: 1.5 millions rows and 50 predictors. Running NUTS takes approximately 6 hours on default settings (1000 samples + 500 burn-in). I can reduce this down to 2 hours if I use ADVI, but is still not that desirable. I’ve therefore been looking at using mini-batches to deal with the large dataset, but I’m not sure how I can use it correctly with the high imbalance in the target classes. I’ve done some initial testing, and the only way I can achieve a sensible result is if I have a very large batch size (in the order of 50,000) - which I guess defeats the purpose of using mini-batches.

I’ve also tried down-sampling my dataset, which gives me ‘good’ performance in regards to ranking (e.g. AUROC), however the model becomes highly mis-calibrated as a result.

Just wondering what might be my best way forward here.

1 Like

Maybe it is possible to create better minibatch that always contains 0s and 1s. Following the docstring in minibatch:

To be more concrete about how we get minibatch, here is a demo

1. create shared variable >>> shared = theano.shared(data)

2. create random slice of size 10 >>> ridx = pm.tt_rng().uniform(size=(10,), low=0, high=data.shape[0]-1e-10).astype(‘int64’)

3. take that slice >>> minibatch = shared[ridx]

That’s done. Next you can use this minibatch somewhere else. You can see that implementation does not require fixed shape for shared variable. Feel free to use that if needed.

The idea is to construct the ridx better so that it always index to a batch with around 2% of 1s and 98% or 0s. For example with a batch size of 100 and always at least 2 cases is 1s.