Discrete DensityDist

Hi all,

first of all thanks a lot for the library. It’s an incredible tool and I found it very useful so far.

I’m not a big expert in the field though, so please forgive me if the question is trivial. I tried to browse both google, Discourse and the codebase without finding an answer.

I want to model some positive non-zero integers (counts > 0) as samples from a custom distribution depending on 3 parameters, and infer the parameters posterior distributions.
To do so I wrote the following:

with pymc.Model():
        mu = pymc.Normal("mu", mu=-1, sigma=1)
        r = pymc.Exponential("r", lam=1)
        k = pymc.Gamma("k", alpha=np.log(samples.max()), beta=1)
        pymc.DensityDist("obs", mu, r, k, observed=samples, logp=customlogp)
        trace = pymc.sample(...)

where customlogp(x, mu, r, k) is an appropriate logp function and samples is the array of ints. Everything works fine and I get the estimate of my parameters. Happy.

Now, I make my model more complex, making the hypothesis that the counts I observe have been reduced by some process. I thought that a possible strategy could be to add another layer to the model, making my observed samples drawn by a BetaBinomial having the previous random variable as a maximum possible outcome (please if you think this does not make sense or there is a better way to do it, let me know :)).

I write the following:

with pymc.Model():
        counts = pymc.DensityDist("ab", mu, r, k, logp=gompertz)
        alpha=pymc.Gamma("alpha",1000, 1)
        beta=pymc.Gamma("beta",1000, 1)
        pymc.BetaBinomial("obs", alpha=alpha, beta=beta, n=counts, observed=samples)
        trace = pymc.sample(..)

which breaks because apparently “ab” gets float values, both positives and negatives.

SamplingError: Initial evaluation of model at starting point failed!
Starting values: