Generating data from marginalized model with fixed value for the parameter of interest

Hello,

I’m new to PyMC so I apologize in advance if my question is trivial or if it has already been documented somewhere (I took some time to do a search but it was not successfull, hence my message on this forum).

I’d like to do some inference in the context of radioactivity measurement. In its simplest form, the model I want to work with is the product of two poisson probabilities:

As you can see, there are :

• two observables : Nb and Ng
  • three parameters : a, b and w. The parameter of interest is a. The two other parameters are nuisance parameters.

The priors I’m considering are:

• uniform priors for b and a
  • normal prior for w: w~Normal(mu=4.1,sigma=0.6)

My attempt at implementing this model is shown in the attached script. Running this script gives a good result for the posterior distribution on my parameter of interest a (by “good result” I mean that the result is in agreement with what I obtain with independent softwares not based on PyMC). As I’m new to PyMC this script might however not be written in its most optimal form, so don’t hesitate to correct it if you see that something is weirdly implemented :slight_smile:

What I’d like to do now is :

1. To draw the observable Ng from the model marginalized over b and w, and with a fixed value for the parameter of interest a. That is, I want to draw Ng from this probability law:

At the end of this step, the goal is to have a rather large sample of values of Ng: {Ng}.
  1. Once step 1 is done, I’d like to use the sample {Ng} instead of the single value ng=21670 as the “observed data” in my model, and repeat the inference for a.

Any help regarding these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
Emmanuel

toymodel.py (800 Bytes)