GP Periodic Kernel - is pymc3 different from other sources?

Dear All,

I am a beginner and learning to apply Gaussian processes. I find in pymc3 the periodic kernel is implemented through:

k(x, x') = \mathrm{exp}\left( -\frac{\mathrm{sin}^2(\pi |x-x'| \frac{1}{T})}{2\ell^2} \right)

However, in other sources including David Duvenaud’s Kernel Cookbook, as well as one place in pymc3 documentation - the formula is given by:

k(x, x') = \exp\left( -\frac{2 \sin^{2}(\pi |x - x'|\frac{1}{T})}{\ell^2} \right)

I am a little confused here. Does this difference (placement of “2”) change the interpretation of the lengthscale (\ell)? Or am I simply missing something?

Thank you!

1 Like

Ooh, nice catch! PyMC3’s source code does seem to use the first option. To add to the apparent confusion, it seems like we’re using another slightly different implementation in PyMC4:

k(x, x') = \sigma^2 \mathrm{exp}\left( -\frac{2\mathrm{sin}^2(\pi ||x-x'||^2 \frac{1}{T})}{\ell^2} \right)

I think getting @bwengals and @tirthasheshpatel perspectives would be interesting here!

You are right. PyMC3’s implementation is a little different. I don’t think that should make much difference during inference but the interpretation of length scales does change which is not a good thing. IMO, for the sake of correctness, this should be changed to the equation below. Still, @bwengals has more experience with GPs so he would be your best guide. As this is a bug, you can open an issue on the Github repo and even resolve it in a PR, if you wish.

1 Like

Yes, true! It would change the interpretation of the lengthscale. A constant factor there will change how you think of the lengthscale and what priors you’d set on it.

The PyMC3 covariance functions were largely based on GPFlow, which does use the (apparently nonstandard) -0.5 convention.