GSOC 2021 Project Discussion

I’m an Computer Engineering undergraduate student at Pune Institute of Computer Technology, Pune, India. I’m interested in contributing to the Replace backends with xarray project.I’ve been working in python since last 2 years. I’m familiar with general computing libraries in python such as pandas, numpy, scikit and also familiar jupyter notebook , git. I’d love to work on this. I went through backend files (base,ndarray,tracetab).

Thank you
Rashmi Borase

1 Like

Tagging prospective mentors @RavinKumar and @colcarroll.

It may also be interesting to take a look at the discussions in Feature request: Named RV dimensions · Issue #4565 · pymc-devs/pymc3 · GitHub and shape vs size keyword argument · Issue #4552 · pymc-devs/pymc3 · GitHub.

As the project idea is not very detailed, I just want to add that the computational backend for pymc3>=4.0 is and will be Aesara, and implementing this new xarray backed backend will not change that. What I still personally don’t know is is how should we go about implementing that. I see two main paths we could take, each with its own pros and cons.

One option would be to have all sampling and calculations in pure Aesara, and use xarray to initialize (and preallocate) a dataset when pymc3 starts sampling and have it updated every iteration with the corresponding sampling results. I think this is not too different from what happens now with the current backends, and would have the pro of easily integrating with any xarray backed format, i.e. using dask backed xarray datasets we could probably sample models that don’t fit in memory “easily”.