Hidden Markov Model - Predicting the next observation(s) of unseen sequences

Hi!

I am new to bayesian modeling and to PyMC and I am trying to implement a Hidden Markov Model (HMM) with gaussian emissions with the aim of predicting the next observation (x_N+1) of a given sequence of observations (x_1,x_2,…,x_N), using PyMC3.

I was able to estimate the parameters of the model and get posterior samples from multiple short sequences, but, now, I want to predict the next observation of new/unseen sequences. I read here that, to obtain out-of-sample data in a logistic regression model (for example), we can give new predictors to the model using shared variables and then use the function pm.sample_posterior_predictive to obtain the posterior predictive distribution.

However, I cannot understand how I can apply this to my problem. I read here that the posterior predictive distribution is the data the model is expecting to see (X*) after seeing the dataset X. In other words, it is the distribution of observations the model would expect for a new experiment, given that we observed the results of previous experiments (in this case, other sequences). So, in my problem, I think it does not make sense to switch out the observed dataset for the unseen sequences using shared variables and sample from the posterior predictive. I think it would give me the observations the model would expect to see, instead of predicting the next observations of each new sequence.

In HMMs we need the last hidden state of the sequence to “propagate” the model forward and predict the next observations. However, I do not understand how I can implement this using PyMC3.

Can anyone help me?

I am sorry if this is a very basic question, but I am new to this and I am really trying to learn!

1 Like

Not really an answer to your question, but you may want to check out pymc3-hmm, which was developed by @brandonwillard, one of the core contributors to aesara.

Thank you for your comment.