How to Use PyMC Distributions as Inputs to GP.conditional

Hi! I’m new to implementing Gaussian Processes in PyMC, and I have a follow-up to a question asked earlier this year on implementing a GP as an emulator for simulated data.

Instead of creating an emulator, @lilianschuster and I would like to use a GP, fitted to simulated data, as a latent model for modeling observed inputs when we only have one response observation.

To do this, I write up a latent GP model that fits the simulated inputs to the simulated response, following the example in the gallery:

with pm.Model() as model:

#define the covariance parameters and function
    input_dim = 2 #number of fit variables
    cov = pm.gp.cov.ExpQuad(input_dim, ls=0.1)

#instantiate latent GP
    gp = pm.gp.Latent(cov_func=cov)

# np.shape(X_sim) : (663, 2)
    f = gp.prior('latent_gp', X=X_train, 
                       jitter=1e-7)
    gp_sigma = pm.HalfNormal('gp_sigma', sigma=2.0)
    nu = 1 + pm.Gamma('nu', alpha=2, beta=0.1)

# np.shape(X_sim) : (663, 2)
    y_ = pm.StudentT('y', mu=f, lam=1.0 / gp_sigma, nu=nu, 
                                 observed=y_train)

latent_trace = pm.sample(1000, chains=2, target_accept=0.9)

The above code runs smoothly, but I get stuck on the rest of the implementation. After this I try to run gp.conditional on two observationally informed distributions for each input dimension.

with model:

#define the "observational" distributions for inputs to gp.conditional     
    dim1 = pm.TruncatedNormal('dim1_fit', mu=0, sigma=2,
                            lower=-8, upper=8)
    dim2 = pm.TruncatedNormal('dim2_fit',
                                mu=250,
                                sigma=200,
                                lower=1, upper=1000)

Xnew = np.array([dim1, dim2])

#instantiate the conditional fit of GP to new "data"
    gp_mu = gp.conditional('conditional_fit', Xnew=Xnew)