Intuitive understanding of observed data and likelihood?

Apologies in advance for a potentially naive/incoherent question, I’m a scientist with quite a lot of experience with least-squares type analysis but am new to Bayesian modelling and MCMC methods. Thanks to a lot of the excellent resources around I am getting the hang of things slowly, but I am struggling with developing an intuitive understanding of the way a likelihood distribution is generated from observed data, and how it’s used in subsequent sampling.

For example, in the example of linear regression from the docs (quoted partially below), a likelihood is defined:

# Define likelihood
    likelihood = Normal("y", mu=intercept + slope * x, sigma=sigma, observed=y)

I am not sure I fully understand how the observed data are used to generate this distribution that is then sampled from. Is the idea that:

• We assume that the data are normally distributed with a mean given by a combination of our parameters and a sigma corresponding to (for example) experimental uncertainty?
  • The observed data defines this distribution? Is there some initial optimisation/fitting that works out the normal distribution that best fits our data?

I think what I am struggling most with is that I am used to thinking about these problems from an optimisation/minimisation point of view - to my mind, I feel like there must be a way in which a likelihood distribution is pre-conditioned on our observed data to even generate a distribution that can be sampled from, but perhaps this is an incorrect way to think about it. I’ve looked at many many resources and none I can find that seem to explain this concept in detail, so I think it is likely really obvious but that I am just not seeing it!

Any insight anyone can provide as to how to intuitively think of this process (especially as compared to a general least-squares optimisation type approach) would be really appreciated. Not sure I have explained what I mean brilliantly…