Issues in first pymc3 program from the documentation

I am just getting started with PyMC3. And the first program I wrote was the one given in
the introduction (https://docs.pymc.io/history.html),i.e. the bioassay_model. However, I am running into a few issues and I was wondering if someone could help me figure them out.
I am working in Windows 10 on a machine which also has a GPU. I am using the anaconda command prompt (NOT jupyter notebook).
Following are the issues I am trying to figure out:

1. There is a line in the code which says
    trace = sample(1000, njobs=2)
    This gives an error:
    TypeError: function() got an unexpected keyword argument ā€˜njobsā€™
    It does not give an error if I remove njobs. But I was wondering what it is and if it is there in the official docs then maybe I need to do something on my side to get it to work.

2. If I run the program by removing njobs then it starts executing but gives a Runtime Error with the message ā€œAn attempt has been made to start a new process before the current process has finished its bootstrapping phase.ā€
    I tried to search for a way to fix this and used cores=1 from this (Pymc3 getting stuck after initialization)
    and it runs now. Is this the ā€œoptimumā€ way to fix this or there is somethign else which is better?

3. The program isnt ā€œinitializing NUTS using ADVIā€. Instead it says ā€œInitializing NUTS using jitter+adapt_diagā€. Why is it doing that and how can I get it to use ADVI?

4. Plotting: since I am not in jupyter, how do get to display the plot. normally in matplotlib i would do something like plt.show() but that option does not seem to work here.

5.Even though the program runs, I do not get the message regarding Average Loss and ā€œConvergence archived at 11900ā€.

Sorry, about the long list, but if someone could help me figure out these, it would really be great.

1 Like

It has been renamed to cores - try trace = sample(1000, cores=2)