Multidimensional inference and GP surrogate problem

Hello,

I have been using Pymc3 for a few months now but I’d consider myself a novice. Similarly to what’s described in @NateAM thread I am struggling with putting together a model that allows me to infer the input parameters to GPR models.

In my case the 5 inputs and 90 outputs physics model was fitted with 90 GPR surrogates in Matlab. The methodology I am trying to implement is as follows:

• Extract kernel function parameters from Matlab and load to Pymc3
  • In Pymc3 set up a kernel function and build a covariance matrix using parameters above
  • Set the priors on my 5 input parameters that I am trying to infer
  • Redefine the GP for each output
  • Define likelihood function and use the measured output data to infer/calibrate the inputs.

I tried a various different options and read through number of threads but just can’t get it right. Please see below an extract of my code. It is broken clunky and of poor quality but I want to get it working first and then optimise and tidy it up.

I’d really appreciate any help or guidance with this. I am keen reader and want to understand the details, so if appropriate, just point me to relevant documentation. I get various errors which imply that I am not even setting my model in correct way.

# sm_coeff is 2D np array with 90 sets of 5-off 'sigma_l' and 1-off sigma_f parameters to  
    # Exponentiated Quadratic kernel

len_measured = len(measured) # this is 90
    no_inputs = 5 # hardcoded for convenience 

with pm.Model():
        # model covariance matrix with measurement error with fixed sigma
        sigma = 0.2
        var = sigma ** 2
        true_cov = np.zeros([len_measured, len_measured])
        np.fill_diagonal(true_cov, var)

# Define priors for the unknown parameters
        priors = pm.Uniform('priors', 0.5, 2, shape=(1, no_inputs))

# Define the surrogate models for the outputs using the priors defined above
        # Redefine the gaussian process