Newbie model question

Hi all.
I am at the very early stages of translating a toolbox https://github.com/drbenvincent/delay-discounting-analysis from Matlab + JAGS, to Python + PyMC3. Unfortunately I’m falling at the first hurdle - so would really appreciate any insights about what I’m doing wrong here. I suspect that it’s a simple syntax issue, as I’m a novice with Python.

import pandas as pd
import pymc3 as pm

# minimal example data
df = pd.DataFrame({'A' : [80, 34, 25, 11, 49],
                   'DA' : [0, 0, 0, 0, 0],
                   'B' : [85, 50, 60, 30, 60],
                   'DB' : [157, 30, 14, 7, 89],
                   'R' : [0, 1, 1, 1, 0]})

basic_model = pm.Model()
with basic_model:
    # Priors for unknown model parameters
    logk = pm.Normal('logk', mu=-4, sd=3)
    t = pm.Lognormal('t', mu=0, sd=10)
    # Value functions
    VA = pm.Deterministic('VA', df.A / (1.0+pm.math.exp(logk)*df.DA))
    VB = pm.Deterministic('VB', df.B / (1.0+pm.math.exp(logk)*df.DB))
    # Choice function: softmax
    P_chooseB = pm.Deterministic('P', (VB*t) / pm.math.sum(pm.math.exp([VA*t,VB*t])))    
    # Likelihood (sampling distribution) of observations
    R = pm.Bernoulli('R', p=P_chooseB, observed=df.R)

trace = pm.sample(njobs=2)

I get quite a long error message when trying to construct this model, so I’m not even at the ‘getting inference done’ stage yet. Any help is much appreciated.

There isn’t great support for pandas Series yet – this will work if you manually cast each to a numpy object:

basic_model = pm.Model()
with basic_model:
    # Priors for unknown model parameters
    logk = pm.Normal('logk', mu=-4, sd=3)
    t = pm.Lognormal('t', mu=0, sd=10)
    # Value functions
    VA = pm.Deterministic('VA', df.A.as_matrix() / (1.0+pm.math.exp(logk)*df.DA.as_matrix()))
    VB = pm.Deterministic('VB', df.B.as_matrix() / (1.0+pm.math.exp(logk)*df.DB.as_matrix()))
    # Choice function: softmax