Partsworth estimation causes "bad energy" warning on some observations

Hello, everyone,

I am pretty new to data analysis in python and the code is still “work in progress” which is why I apologize for the mess in advance.

With the following code I try to estimate the partsworth of the participants in a conjoint task.

Most of the code is from Cam Davidson-Pilon (which is free to use). The idea is to implement new things after it runs through smoothly the first time.

This is the model:

with pm.Model() as HB_v3:

alpha = pm.Normal('alpha', 0,
                      sd=alpha_prior_std,
                      shape=n_attributes_in_model,
                      testval=np.random.randn(n_attributes_in_model))

partsworth = pm.MvNormal("partsworth", alpha,
                             tau=np.eye(n_attributes_in_model), shape=(n_participants, n_attributes_in_model))

observations = []

for i, (_, selection) in enumerate(selections.iteritems()):
        to_be_stacked = []
        tempPartworth = partsworth[i, :]
        nan_mask = pd.notnull(selection)

for _, choice in choices.get_group(CJ_Version[i]).iloc[:,:-1].groupby(axis=1, level=0):
            dotProduct = tt.dot(choice[nan_mask.values].values, tempPartworth)
            to_be_stacked.append(dotProduct)
        stack = tt.stack(to_be_stacked, axis = 0).T
        softmax = tt.nnet.softmax(stack)
        temp = pm.Categorical("Obs_%s" % selection.name,
                                  softmax,
                                  observed=selection[nan_mask.values].values)

observations.append(temp)

The problem is that the code doesn’t run for all participants. NUTS gives me the error message “bad initialize energy -inf” on startup.

I already tried the tips from this post:
https://discourse.pymc.io/t/get-nan-or-inf-from-model-logp-model-test-point-is-an-attestation-of-incorrectly-configured-model/111/11?u=junpenglao

and also the notes from the “diagnosis page”:
https://docs.pymc.io/api/diagnostics.html