PyMC4: custom likelihood

Hello pymc community,

Using PyMC4, I am trying to use a custom likelihood wrapped in a python function call (it computes a misfit between simulated data from a physics PDE and observations). It also has several variables. I have not been able to figure out the syntax to do that yet. Below is a minimalistic example of the syntax I have pieced together. The code runs BUT:

• my output idata has no likelihood section, only posterior and sample_stats

• in the as_op, I need to add an additional variable for the name, otherwise the code returns an error

What should I be doing instead to use my custom likelihood, with pymc 4, and multiple variables? A code snippet would be deeply appreciated as I am still new to pymc.

Thanks in advance

import pymc as pm
from aesara.compile.ops import as_op
import numpy as np
import aesara.tensor as at

basic_model = pm.Model()

def custom_log_likelihood(x,y):
    # do something, for simplicity here let just put a quadratic so that the code run
    #return log_likelihood
    return -0.5 * (x**2 + y**2)  # placeholder log-likelihood

with basic_model:

# Priors for unknown model parameters
    x0p = pm.Normal("x0p", mu=0, sigma=10)
    y0p = pm.Normal("y0p", mu=-30, sigma=10)

# I somehow need an additional variable here for the name
    @as_op(itypes=[at.dscalar, at.dscalar,at.dscalar], otypes=[at.dscalar])
    def logp(name, x0p, y0p):
        return custom_log_likelihood_quadratic(x0p, y0p)

likelihood = pm.DensityDist("likelihood",x0p,y0p,logp=logp)

start = pm.find_MAP()
    # draw 1000 posterior samples
    idata = pm.sample(step=pm.Metropolis(),cores=4, start=start) # 1, tune=1, start=start, 

I think you might be confusing the pm.DensityDist with pm.Potential:
The DensityDist is designed for situations where you want to “manually draw the PDF” of a prior distribution. It has nothing to do with the likelihood.