Regression model using only categorical variables

hi guys.

I am finding a way to make regression model only using categorical variables.
my data consists of a continuous dependent variable and 2 categorical independent variables(one has 20 categories and the other has 1000 categories).
I found several way to deal wit categorical variable but it all about binary variable.

my model would be Hierarchical Model like
y = a[x2_idx]+ b[x2_idx] * x1

if any of you guys know a solution, please let me know.
it would be big help and really appreciated ! thank you!

You need to recode your independent variables.

Your question seems to be not really related to Bayesian modeling or PyMC3 but more of a general one related regression/data analysis. I would recommend looking up regression with categorical variables at a basic stats textbook (or even read the wikipedia article).

Let me rephrase the question. What is an efficient way of treating categorical variables in pymc3? I am a newbie here and I see a lot of pm.math.dot in linear models examples. Is there a way to do this dot product without first binarising (pd.dummies) your categorical variables? Use case would be models that make use of categorical features with lots of levels.
Thanks

1 Like

You can use index variables for variables with many categories: instead of having one indicator variable per category, you just have one index variable and each category has its level – see chapter 5, section 5.3 of Rethinking2 for instance (PyMC port, see code 5.50).
Pandas’ factorize method is very useful for this:

district_id, districts = data.arrondissement.factorize(sort=True)
Ndistricts = len(districts)

Hope this helps :vulcan_salute:

I don’t see the factorize method being used in that part (nor in the notebook), wrong link?

Nevertheless how would you perform the dot product in pymc3 / theano to obtain a linear projection for the location parameter of a pymc distribution?

In one of my attempts I used