Slow sampling in pymc3 (on "tutorial problem")

Hi

I am a beginner and currently working through:
https://github.com/CamDavidsonPilon/Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers/blob/master/Chapter2_MorePyMC/Ch2_MorePyMC_PyMC3

I am trying to reproduce the “challenger disaster” analysis with code:

import pymc3 as pm
import theano.tensor as tt

temperature = data[:,0].astype(float)
D = data[:,1].astype(float)

with pm.Model() as model:

beta = pm.Normal('beta', 0, 0.001, testval=0)
    alpha = pm.Normal('alpha', 0,0.001, testval =0)
    p = pm.Deterministic('p',1.0/(1.+tt.exp(beta*temperature + alpha)))

observed = pm.Bernoulli('bernoulli_obs',p,observed=D)
    start = pm.find_MAP()
    step = pm.Metropolis()
    trace = pm.sample(120000, step=step, start=start)
    burned_trace = trace[100000::2]

Now, I get sampling rates around “100 draws/s”. In the link above the same sampling only takes some 16s, for me around 50 min.

Note that I did the same before on pymc, where I had similar performance to the “literature”.

I am running this in a Jupyter Notebook
Python version: ‘3.6.8 |Anaconda, Inc.| (default, Feb 21 2019, 18:30:04) [MSC v.1916 64 bit (AMD64)]’
PyMC3: 3.7

Does anyone have similar experience and found a way around?

The followings are generally not recommended any more (and we should probably work with Cam to update all the codes):

• pm.find_MAP()
  • pm.Metropolis()

I suggest you to try just sample with the default: trace = pm.sample(). Also, if you are using the default sampling (i.e., NUTS), you dont need thinning and burnin.

I tried to remove the find_MAP start condition, and use the default step, method (e.g. no step argument), see code below.

import pymc3 as pm
import theano.tensor as tt

temperature = data[:,0].astype(float)
D = data[:,1].astype(float)

with pm.Model() as model:

beta = pm.Normal('beta', 0, 0.001, testval=0)
    alpha = pm.Normal('alpha', 0,0.001, testval =0)