Sum of two Binomial Distributions

I’m relatively new to PyMC, so I might be making a very simple error. A little bit about the problem I’m trying to model. There is food that is potentially contaminated which is being tested. We know the false positive and false negative rates of the testing procedure. I’m trying to get some bounds on the actual number of contaminated samples.

n = 100 
y = 50
fn = .2
fp = .1
with Model() as food_model:
    positives = pm.DiscreteUniform("positives", lower = 0, upper = n)
    true_positives = pm.Binomial("true_positives", n = positives, p = (1 - fn))
    false_positives = pm.Binomial("false_positives", n = y - positives, p = fp)
    model = pm.Deterministic('model', true_positives + false_positives, observed = y)

with food_model:

# Draw samples
    trace = sample(1000, njobs=2)
    # Plot parameter
    forestplot(trace, varnames=['positives']) 

The error is:
TypeError Traceback (most recent call last)
in ()
7 true_positives = pm.Binomial(“true_positives”, n = positives, p = (1 - fn))
8 false_positives = pm.Binomial(“false_positives”, n = y - positives, p = fp)
----> 9 model = pm.Deterministic(‘model’, true_positives + false_positives, observed = y)

TypeError: Deterministic() got an unexpected keyword argument ‘observed’

For reference, I used the advice given here: https://github.com/pymc-devs/pymc3/issues/1108

1 Like

@ggluck Deterministic is not a random variable, it is correspondent to represent a deterministic variable (as a combination of several RVs). We can use deterministic variables to capture the transformations to the random variables and store them in the trace.

However, if you can fix the deterministic using observed then there is no point of storing it in the trace.

Please look this git issue for more details - https://github.com/pymc-devs/pymc3/issues/1971