Using Multivariate distributions for price optimization

Hi,

I’m pretty new to the PyMC3 and glad to see such a vibrant community. Currently, I’m working on a hierarchical model for price optimization. But being a newbie to more complex Bayesian modeling, I faced a lot of theoretical and technical difficulties regarding using multivariate distributions. Basically, I know how to implement such a model for a single product. But generalizing it to multiple related products with correlated demand functions is a big dilemma. So, I really wonder if you could point me in the right direction, either by introducing online resources you found helpful or by sharing your experience. I appreciate any help you can offer.

Thanks.

Can you show what you are doing with the single product model, and to what kind of data you are trying to generalize it? Without more info it is hard to help.

Thanks for your reply. For a single product I basically follow a procedure similar to the one outlined in this blog post:

But when dealing with multiple products, I’m not sure how to incorporate the price and demand of similar products into the model, how to form the covariance matrix, and how to choose the optimally informed prior for each item. I understand the broad definition of the problem, but I’m aware that similar dynamic pricing algorithms have been deployed in the past and I’m looking for a more detailed description.

How does your data look like? Giving you good hints really is harder if I don’t know exactly what you are modeling.
I don’t think you have to deal with covariance matrices. At least not in a first version of a model like that. You might use those to deal with things like: I’m selling two products that most people use and buy together, so the price of product 1 influences if people buy product 2. Sounds fun, but don’t start with something like that. :slight_smile:
You could start a model with several products something like this: