Using unobserved distributions to bound observed truncated normal distributions

Hi all, I’m not sure what I am doing commits any cardinal sins in the realm of Probabilistic Programming or just plain wrong or impossible. I’m new to PyMC3 and probabilistic programming, so please forgive me for my ignorance. I would love to be enlightened. With that said he we go…

I have data that is multimodal (4-peaks). For example:

This data can be generated with this:

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import pymc3 as pm
import theano.tensor as tt
import numpy as np

# example data:
mu1, mu2, mu3, mu4 = 0, 2.4, 4.7, 7.4
sigma1, sigma2, sigma3, sigma4 = 1, 0.6, 0.9, 0.7

dataset1 = np.random.normal(mu1, sigma1, 1000)
dataset2 = np.random.normal(mu2, sigma2, 1000)
dataset3 = np.random.normal(mu3, sigma3, 1000)
dataset4 = np.random.normal(mu4, sigma4, 1000)

plt.figure()
count, bins1, ignored = plt.hist(dataset1, 30, density=True, alpha=0.5)
count, bins2, ignored = plt.hist(dataset2, 30, density=True, alpha=0.5)
count, bins3, ignored = plt.hist(dataset3, 30, density=True, alpha=0.5)
count, bins4, ignored = plt.hist(dataset4, 30, density=True, alpha=0.5)
plt.show()

Building the model:

model = pm.Model()
with model:
    # in between peaks distributions
    between1 = pm.Normal('between1', mu=1.3, sigma=0.9)
    between2 = pm.Normal('between2', mu=3.8, sigma=0.8)
    between3 = pm.Normal('between3', mu=6.1, sigma=0.85)

# the observed distributions
    p1 = pm.TruncatedNormal('p1', lower=np.min(dataset1), upper=between1, observed=dataset1)
    p2 = pm.TruncatedNormal('p2', lower=between1, upper=between2, observed=dataset2)
    p3 = pm.TruncatedNormal('p3', lower=between2, upper=between3, observed=dataset3)
    p4 = pm.TruncatedNormal('p4', lower=between3, upper=np.max(dataset4), observed=dataset4)

trace = pm.sample()