Variable dependent features

Hello Guys.
I’m pretty new to pymc3 and probabilistic programming in general. I hope that this is the right place for the question and that the question isn’t too obvious, as I am that new that I don’t have the right terms to google quite yet :smiley: .
Now to the question: I defined the following Model:
Screenshot from 2022-05-09 11-56-19

My Data is dependent on time t, which can take values from 0-99, and this data has 8 features. That is where the shape of at originates. xt_theano is a tensor of dimensions (t x features x training_vals), in numbers (100 x 8 x 3000). Now the idea is that at[t] dot xt_theano[t] resolves to 3000 scalar values and in combination with the observation size of 3000 everything is great. My problem is that how to tell pymc3 about t. I obviously have a t vector of the size 3000 that that maps the actual features to the time t.

I hope I made my problem clear. If you don’t understand what I want to accomplish, please ask.

1 Like

I’m a bit confused by “maps the actual features to time t”. If I want the value of feature j at time t, isn’t that the value at xt_theano[t, j, :]?

If you want to a tensor dot product, you have to do it “by hand” by multiplying the tensors then summing over the dimension you want to go away. In this case, that’s the feature dimension on axis 1. You will also need to expand the dimensions on at so they match:

at = tt.ones((100, 8))
xt_theano = tt.ones((100, 8, 3000))
(at[:, :, None] * xt_theano).sum(axis=1).shape.eval()
>>>array([ 100, 3000], dtype=int64)

As you can see, this will give you a (100, 3000) tensor where each row is a linear combination of the features at each timestep, weighted by the values of at at each time.

2 Likes

Thank you for your answer.

I don’t think the logic is right the way you suggested, or at least I don’t get the logic :D.
If I compute theta with

theta = pm.invlogit((at[:, :, None] * xt_theano).sum(axis=1) + beta)