What are the Reasons for a Variable with few Non-zero Values to Cause the Model to Fail to Converge?

I’m new to the world of bayesian. I’m working on a hierarchical model with quite a few variables. One of the variables is causing the model not to converge. If I use ‘numpyro’, the sampling would finish very quickly and end up with inf r_hat for every variable. When I use ‘pymc’ sampler, it won’t even run. I identified the problematic variable by elimination. 98% of the values are zero for the variable. But the rest 2% are all valid values, nothing crazy. I’m curious what are the reasons for this to happen and if there are any potential fixes if I have to include this variable in the model. Thank you very much.

You have to share more details about the model. numpyro running fast just means it’s getting a 100% divergences.

Hi Ricardo, Thank you very much for your response. Here is what the code structure looks like. It’s a hierarchical model with a nested structure. At least that’s what I’m trying to do, but I’m unsure if I have everything set up correctly. The dependent variables are categorical. When I use ‘pymc’ sampler, it would give me an error saying “Initial evaluation of model at starting point failed!”. Let’s say the variable causing issue is ‘Var1_’, If I remove ‘Var1_’, the sampling process would run. But the values of ‘Var1_’ are all valid in the dataframe, except 98% of the values are 0. I hope this provides more information. I really appreciate the help!

coords = {
    "dim1": dim1,
    "dim2": dim2,
    "dim3": dim3,
    "Variables": Variables,
    "obs": range(N),
}

with pm.Model(coords=coords) as model:

mu = pm.Normal('mu', 0, 1000, dims="Variables")
    sigma = pm.HalfNormal('sigma', sigma=1000, dims="Variables")

InterceptC_M = pm.Normal("InterceptC_M", mu[Variables.index("InterceptC_M")], sigma[Variables.index("InterceptC_M")], dims=("dim1","dim3"))