What's the difference between pm.fit(..., method = 'ADVI' ) and pm.ADVI()

Hi!

I am new to PyMC and there are a few questions concerning ADVI that I cannot figure out by myself.

I was using PSIS to diagnose the ADVI’s performance, where the method is proposed in this paper. My model is a GMM, and the implementation of PSIS is based on Junpeng’s notebook. You could find my notebook here. In addition, Junpeng only implemented for ADVI(meanfiled) case, and I expanded Junpeng’s implementation to the situations of ADVI.FullRank(). The core part of codes are listes as follows:

#PSIS
from pymc3.math import logsumexp
from scipy.special import logsumexp as sp_logsumexp
from pymc3.distributions.dist_math import rho2sd

def log_important_ratio(approx, nsample):
    logp_func = approx.model.logp

# in ADVI there are only 1 group approximation
    approx_group = approx.groups[0]
    if approx.short_name == "mean_field":
        mu_q = approx_group.params[0].eval()
        std_q = rho2sd(approx_group.params[1]).eval()
        logq_func = st.norm(mu_q, std_q)
    elif approx.short_name == "full_rank":
        packed_chol_q = approx_group.params[0]
        mu_q = approx_group.params[1].eval()
        dim = mu_q.shape[0]
        chol_q = pm.expand_packed_triangular(dim, packed_chol_q, lower=True).eval()
        cov_q = np.dot(chol_q, chol_q.T)
        logq_func = st.multivariate_normal(mu_q, cov_q)

dict_to_array = approx_group.bij.map

p_theta_y = []
    q_theta = []
    samples = approx.sample_dict_fn(nsample)  # type: dict
    points = ({name: records[i] for name, records in samples.items()}
              for i in range(nsample))

for point in points:
        p_theta_y.append(logp_func(point))
        q_theta.append(np.sum(logq_func.logpdf(dict_to_array(point))))
    p_theta_y = np.asarray(p_theta_y)
    q_theta = np.asarray(q_theta)
    return p_theta_y-q_theta