Analyzing EEG / MEG data with PyMC3

Hi,

just to provide some background: I am a scientist working with EEG / MEG data. I recently came across PyMC3 and was wondering whether we can apply this to our data.

The probably most common use case is this: I collected data from N participants in a paradigm that has 2 conditions. The data is sampled from a number of sensors (102 magnetometers in my case). Because the data is very noisy, I average over something like 100 trials within each of the conditions for each participant separately.

So, what I end up with is a matrix with the shape of (n_participants, n_channels, n_samples) for each condition. Because I am interested in the difference between the conditions, I use the difference of the two matrices for further analysis.

The hypothesis I want to test is that at some channels and some samples the mean of the differences over all participants is not 0.

I can quite safely assume that my the differences follow a student-t distribution. So, I tried to come up with a model and used the models defined in the BEST toolbox as a template.

This is what I cam up with:

# normalisation seems to be needed because the values are in the range of 1e-15 and that seems to be a problem for the sampling algorithm
norm_factor = np.std(data_for_model)
data_for_model = data_for_model / norm_factor

nu_min = 2.5
nu_mean = 30
nu_mean - nu_min

with pm.Model() as model:
    mu = pm.Normal('mu', mu=0, sigma=1, shape=(n_channels, n_samples)) # we want to estimate the mean for each channel and sample
    std = pm.Uniform('std', lower=1e-3, upper=1e3, shape=(n_channels, 1)) # but we can assume that the std deviation is the same within each channel
    nu = pm.Exponential('nu', 1 / (nu_mean - nu_min)) + nu_min
    modeled_data = pm.StudentT('modeled', mu=mu, nu=nu, sigma=std, observed=data_for_model, total_size=data_for_model.shape)

trace = pm.sample(1000)

Here are my questions: