Model Comparison: How to constrain a model to positive mu-differences?

Hi! I’m new to PyMC3 and bayesian modelling in general. I’m not even sure my question is appropiate to my problem. I’m not sure about my modelling choices. So please be a bit patient with me, thanks!
There’s a code example following the explanations.

Background:
I’ve got data from an experiment with a repeated measures/within-subject design (the real data is from a mixed design, though the between factor doesn’t concern me right now). Each participant does 3 consecutive blocks of 30 trials. Due to outlier removal and missing data the resulting blocks do not have the same length. The data are lengths of projections of 2D points onto a vector (called parallel in the data) and onto its orthogonal vector. I’m interested in the difference in variance between these projection directions parallel (\parallel) and orthogonal (\perp).

Goal:
I’ve done the classic ANOVA approach (on synergy indices as a measure of the ratio between projections in an uncontrolled manifold analysis, for those who are interested), but I’d like to learn from the data how plausible certain theoretical models about the structure of variance are, given the observed data. My goal is to receive this kind of comparison between models. I used @junpenglao’s bridge sampling implementation, but didn’t parameterize the models very well.

Approach:
The mean of the projections is zero in each block. Therefore, the mean of the squared projections is the variance. So I could compare mean squared projections. Squared projections are all positive values, but there are a few extremes, the variance seems to increase with the mean, the squared data are skewed to the right, and the range of values is large. These were indicators to me that I should log-transform the squared data.