Average loss for ADVI never decrease for my model

Hi all. I am new to ADVI sampling. When I use ADVI to fit parameters for my model. I find that the average loss never decreases and the posterior value of the parameters is exactly the value at the middle of my prior distribution. The ELBO and trace figures are as follows:

And here is my model:

I am sure that there must be some sets of better parameters for the fitting process since I can even manually adjust the parameters to get a better fitting model.

What can be the possible reason that ADVI doesn’t work for me? Thanks!

1 Like

Can you post the code directly instead of a screenshot?

Does the model sample correctly with NUTS (i.e. pm.sample())? I suspect it’s not an ADVI but a model issue.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. You are correct. I forgot to mention that using NUTS for my model takes an extremely long time but it’s okay to use metropolis hasting.

Here is the code.

def update_decisions(acti_normalized, noise_d_seq, sign_seq, bias, weight,learning_rate,bias_strength):
    # Calculate sign of decision
    decision=pt.sum(acti_normalized*weight,axis=1) - bias_strength * bias + noise_d_seq
    decision=decision/pt.abs(decision)

# Update bias and weight
    bias= bias_update*decision+(1-bias_update)*bias
    delta=acti_normalized*learning_rate*sign_seq*Amax
    weight=weight+(w_max-weight)*pt.switch(delta>=0,delta,0)+(weight-w_min)*pt.switch(delta<0,delta,0)

return bias, weight, decision    

BIP=pm.Model()
lower=[0,0,0,0,0]
upper=[0.01,3,3,0.5,0.5]

with BIP:
    test=pm.Uniform('test', lower=lower, upper=upper)

noise_d_seq =  pt.as_tensor_variable(np.random.normal(0, 1, size=(nTrials,nAverage)))*test[3]
    noise_r_seq =  pt.as_tensor_variable(np.random.normal(0, 1, size=(nTrials,nAverage,nUnits)))*test[4]

acti_withnoise = acti_seq +noise_r_seq
    acti_normalized =((1-pt.exp(-test[2]*pt.switch(acti_withnoise>0,acti_withnoise,0)))/(1+pt.exp(-test[2]*pt.switch(acti_withnoise>0,acti_withnoise,0))))*Amax