Categories in another column, how to use dynamically?

I am very new to pymc3 and trying to get my feet wet with it. If I have a basic dataset, like:

import pandas as pd
import pymc3 as pm
df = pd.DataFrame({
    'labels': list('aabbcc'),
    'values': [0,1,1,1,0,0]
})

with pm.Model() as model:
    mu_a = pm.Beta('mu_a', 1, 3)
    mu_b = pm.Beta('mu_b', 1, 3)
    mu_c = pm.Beta('mu_c', 1, 3)

likelihood_a = pm.Binomial('likelihood_a', p=mu_a, observed=df[df['labels'] == 'a'][‘values’])
    likelihood_b = pm.Binomial('likelihood_b', p=mu_b, observed=df[df['labels'] == 'b'][‘values’])
    likelihood_c = pm.Binomial('likelihood_c', p=mu_c, observed=df[df['labels'] == 'c'][‘values’])

diff_a_b = pm.Deterministic('diff_a_b', mu_a - mu_b)
    diff_a_c = pm.Deterministic('diff_a_c', mu_a - mu_c )
    diff_b_c = pm.Deterministic('diff_a_c', mu_b - mu_c)

I feel like I am doing something very wrong, and there has to be an easier way to define the probabilities and calculate the differences.

Hi,
Yeah it seems like some vectorization is in order here. But it depends on what you’re trying to do though.
I noticed you don’t use the values column. So, what are studying with your model?

The missing usage of the values column was a typo when I was typing the example code. I have corrected the question. I also noticed I was calculating the diffs incorrectly and adjusted that.

At the moment, I would be looking for the differences in means between the label categories.

What I have there runs, but it feels like there is a better way to write it. And maybe a better way to scale it. If I had another column of new categories, say, “country,” I might want to compare across countries and labels without having to write a number of lines equal to

df.countries.nunqiue() * df.labels.nunique()

Times however many lines the model definition is.

I suspect that I need to be using the shape kwarg in the model definition, but I don’t yet understand what exactly shape does and when to use it.