Continuous Time Markov Chain

I’m somewhat new to PyMc, but I can’t seem to find anything to help out on this.

For relevant background on CTMC, see the answer to: https://math.stackexchange.com/questions/876789/continuous-time-markov-chains-is-this-step-by-step-example-correct

A toy example would be to consider I have 2 states. I have a generator matrix Q which is parameterised as:

Q = \begin{bmatrix} - \lambda_{1} & \lambda_{1} \\ \lambda_{2} & -\lambda_{2} \\ \end{bmatrix}

My transition matrix for a period of time, t, is given by exp(Qt), where exp is the matrix exponential.

The above link explains how to fit MLE to the generator matrix, from data of transition times. If I wanted a prior over \lambda_{1}, \ \lambda_{2}, how would I do this in PyMC3? Obviously this is a toy example, and the parameters may be generally more complex.

I appreciate any help you guys can offer.

Defining a matrix Q by a set of random variables is simple enough, using

r_12 = pm.HalfNormal('r12', 5.)
r_13 = pm.HalfNormal('r13', 5.)
r_11 = pm.Deterministic('r11', -r_12 - r_13)
(...)
Q = tt.stacklists([[r_11, r_12, r_13], [r_21, r_22, r_23], [r_31, r_32, r_33]])

and P = tt.slinalg.Expm(Q * s) can give a transition matrix for a particular interval.

From here, it seems like there are two approaches. The first is to discretize the process, letting s be the desired step size, and therefore P be a fixed transition matrix, and treat this as a parameter to a discrete probability distribution like

class DiscreteMarkov(pm.Categorical):  # maybe (pm.Discrete) ?
    def __init__(self, P, init_P):
        super(pm.Discrete, self).__init__(*args, **kwargs)
        self.P = P
        self.init_P = init_P

def logp(self, x):
        # assume x is encoded as state index [0,0,0,1,1,2,1,3,3,0,0,0, ...]
        trans = self.P[x[:-1]] # no transition from the last state
        lik_chain = tt.sum(pm.Categorical.dist(trans).logp(x[1:]))  # after the initial state