Custom Categorical Distribution - ensure bounded candidates

Hi all,

I am new to Pymc and I would like to create a custom distribution that outputs a Markov Chain:

(initial probs) x (transition matrix prob) x (length of the chain) => markov chain

For this, I used the following tutorial: Implementing a RandomVariable Distribution — PyMC 5.11.0 documentation

Most of the implementation works: logp returns the right values, I can generate data, … However, now I want to use this distribution as a latent variable for a HMM:

with pm.Model() as hmm_observed_states: 
    transition_mat = pm.Dirichlet(
        "p_transition",
        a=pt.ones((n_states, n_states)) + pt.eye(n_states),
        shape=(n_states, n_states))

init_probs = pm.Dirichlet('init_probs', a = pt.ones((n_states,)), shape=n_states)

# Prior for mu and sigma
    μ = pm.Normal("mu", mu=[5, 0., -5], sigma=10, shape=(n_states,))
    σ = pm.Exponential("sigma", lam=2, shape=(n_states,))

# for i in range(n_trajectories):
    for i in range(1):

states_i = HMM(
            f"HMM_{i}",
            init_probs,
            transition_mat,
            n_timesteps,
            n_states,
            shape=(1,n_timesteps),
        )

# states_i = pt.clip(states_i, 0, n_states - 1)

emissions_i = pm.Normal(
            f'emissions_{i}',
            mu=μ[states_i[0]],
            sigma=σ[states_i[0]],
            observed=trajectories[i].astype("float")
        )

By doing so, an error raised whenever the proposed new node q (proposed by Metropolis step) has a value outside of the range of states. E.g. q = [1,4,1,1] when only 3 states. Therefore the issue is simply an Index error for sigma=σ[states_i[0]] whenever states_i consists of values outside of [0,1,2].

Of course, the logp corresponding to these values is set to -inf.

The problem is “solved” by setting artificially a pt.clip between the HMM states and the Normal distribution. However, it is inelegant, and, I suppose, very much inefficient.