Difference in posterior between Metropolis and NUTS Sampler

Hello,
I try to sample different polymer-chains with length N in spherical-coordinates, and than calculate the center of mass in Cartesian coordinates. Theta and phi (angles between monomers) have a uniform prior distribution.
When running this with NUTS, I get a Gausian distribution for center of mass, with mean at 0. When i run this with Metropolis i get a Gausian, but for the x axis the mean is shifted. Seen in the plots below. I use 10 chains and 8000 draws. For me it looks like it converged(I am quite new to this). How can this happen, do I have a mistake in my parametrization?
(Using pymc 5.0.2)
My Model:

N=40
processors=10
with pm.Model() as chain:

theta = pm.Uniform("theta", lower=-np.pi/2, upper=np.pi/2, size=N)
    phi = pm.Uniform("phi", lower=0, upper=2*np.pi, size=N)

ct = theta.cos()
    st = theta.sin()

cp = phi.cos()
    sp = phi.sin()

_x, _ = pt.scan(lambda _ct, _st, _cp, _sp, prior: prior + [_cp*_ct, _sp*_ct, _st],
               sequences = [ct, st, cp, sp],
               outputs_info = pt.tensor.zeros(3))

x = _x[:,0]
    y = _x[:,1]
    z = _x[:,2]

pm.Deterministic("z_mean", z.mean())
    pm.Deterministic("x_mean", x.mean())
    pm.Deterministic("y_mean", y.mean())

#This lets the energy-less distribution be uniform on the sphere
    pm.Potential("sphere", ct.log().sum())

#step=[pm.step_methods.Metropolis([theta, phi])]
    step=[pm.NUTS([theta, phi], target_accept=0.9)]

#datat = pm.smc.sample_smc(draws=500,cores=processors)
    datat = pm.sample(draws = 2000, cores = processors, step= step)

1 Like

Welcome!

It is not entirely clear what is going on here. If you have a runnable example (e.g., something simpler than what you are currently using) someone might be able to investigate further.