Efficient Sampling of Multinomial Processing Tree using NUTS?

Hi all!

I’m just getting started teaching myself some PyMC3 and looking to re-implement a JAGS Multinomial Processing Tree (MPT) model from the “Computational Modeling of Cognition and Behavior” textbook by Farrell & Lewandowsky (2018). The model is based on Waagenar & Boer’s (1987) ‘No Conflict’ MPT model and developed further in Vandekerckhove et al (2015). I’m happy to provide more specific model details, but I think the issue might be more around how I’ve coded it up.

My code so far more or less follows the JAGS code line-for-line (as linked above), and looks like this:

import pymc3 as pm
import numpy as np

# Import Data
obs_consistent = np.array([78, 70, 7, 15])
obs_inconsistent = np.array([102, 55, 40, 53])
obs_neutral = np.array([63, 45, 13, 21])

with pm.Model() as MPT_Noconflict_model:
    # Priors for  MPT Parameters
    p = pm.Beta('p', alpha = 1, beta = 1)
    q = pm.Beta('q', alpha = 1, beta = 1)
    c = pm.Beta('c', alpha = 1, beta = 1)

# Predicted probabilities for:
    ## Consistent Condition
    c_pp = (1 + p + q - p*q + 4 * p*c)/6
    c_pm = (1 + p + q - p*q - 2 * p*c)/3
    c_mp = (1 - p - q + p*q)/6
    c_mm = (1 - p - q + p*q)/3

## Inconsistent Condition
    i_pp = (1 + p - q + p*q + 4 * p*c)/6
    i_pm = (1 + p - q + p*q - 2 * p*c)/3
    i_mp = (1 - p + q - p*q)/6
    i_mm = (1 - p + q - p*q)/3

## Neutral Condition
    n_pp = (1 + p + 4 * p*c)/6
    n_pm = (1 + p - 2 * p*c)/3
    n_mp = (1 - p)/6
    n_mm = (1 - p)/3

# Observed from Multinomial as fn of predicted probs
    consistent = pm.Multinomial('Consistent', p = [c_pp, c_pm, c_mp, c_mm], n = 170, observed = obs_consistent)
    inconsistent = pm.Multinomial('Inconsistent', p = [i_pp, i_pm, i_mp, i_mm], n = 250, observed = obs_inconsistent)
    neutral = pm.Multinomial('Neutral', p = [n_pp, n_pm, n_mp, n_mm], n = 142, observed = obs_neutral)

# Sample using NUTS