Geometric variable not being properly Sampled

Github issue #2303 by kpei:

I am new to pymc3 and I have scanned through the list of outstanding/closed issues and couldn’t find an exact solution so I am posting it here. If there is any existing soln or written piece, I’d appreciate if you can link it to me.

The Problem

I am trying to sample from a mvGaussianRandomwalk with a switching component where the drift will change permanently after each time period with a probability p. The natural conclusion I came to was to use a geometric variable where its values represent the point of switching. However, using the metropolis sampler on newest theano (and stable release of pymc3), I find that part is not being properly sampled when I increase the size of observations that I have. See picture below

The Code

with pm.Model() as position_model:

eta = pm.distributions.continuous.Exponential('eta', lam=0.5, testval=0.5)
    sd = pm.distributions.continuous.Exponential('sd', lam=0.5, shape=n, testval=0.5)
    C_triu = pm.distributions.multivariate.LKJCorr('C_triu', eta=eta, n=n, testval=0.5)
    C = pm.Deterministic('C', tt.fill_diagonal(C_triu[np.zeros((n, n), dtype=np.int32)], 1.))
    sigma_diag = pm.Deterministic('sigma_mat', tt.nlinalg.diag(sd))
    sigma = pm.Deterministic('cov', tt.nlinalg.matrix_dot(sigma_diag, C, sigma_diag))

mu_start = pm.distributions.continuous.Normal('start_drift', mu=5., shape=n, sd=10.)
    mu_hold = pm.distributions.continuous.Normal('hold_drift', mu=0., sd=10., shape=n)
    p = pm.distributions.continuous.Beta('p_hold', alpha=1, beta=1)
    t_hold = pm.Geometric('time_until_hold', p=p, dtype='int64')

pos = []
    for i in range(len(obs['CT'])):
        px = obs['CT'][i]
        obs_n = len(px)
        tth = pm.math.minimum(t_hold, obs_n-1)
        ht = obs_n-tth-1
        drift = pm.math.concatenate([tt.tile(mu_start, (tth,1)), tt.tile(mu_hold, (ht,1))])