Get a list of xarray index values

Short version: How do I get a list (or iterator) of the indexes (names) of an xarray

I am a beginner with Bayesian modeling and pymc. I’ve had amazing success with the math, but the basic programming using xarray has been baffling me - and sending me into a loop in the documentation.

If I have an xarray that has coordinates how can I get access to the list of strings that name the index of the coordinates.

For example, suppose I have an array (here stored in the variable d):

print(d)
<xarray.DataArray 'logisticerr~(3cats)::beta_responseTimeSeconds' (chartType: 4)>
array([ 0.32511041, -0.04013673,  0.29726454,  0.6054794 ])
Coordinates:
  * chartType  (chartType) <U8 'bar' 'pie' 'stackbar' 'table'

what I’d like to get is a list (or something I can iterate over to get strings) like [ 'bar', 'pie', 'stackbar', 'table']

The only thing I can come up with is: d.coords[list(d.coords.keys())[0]].to_numpy()

What is the right way to do this?

Sorry to ask such a basic question…

Thanks!

Hi,

That is how I would have done it as well. If you want something somewhat more compact you can construct a dictionary that maps dims to array of coordinates

dim_to_coords = {key:d.coords[key].to_numpy() for key in d.dims}

Note that this is not much different from the dictionary d.coords, it is essentially a version of with its values changed to arrays. So this would also work if that seems more pleasant:

{key:val.to_numpy() for key,val in d.coords.items()}

That being said, if you really just want to get coordinates by dimension index then this is slightly more compact compared to what you are using:

list(d.coords.values())[0].to_numpy()

Any reason why you are not satisfied with your approach?
Also, if your xarray is two dimensional:

d.to_pandas().index
d.to_pandas().columns

will respectively give you coordinates along in each dimension as well. This won’t work in higher dimensions.

3 Likes