Hierarchical Logistic Regression Use Case

Hi everyone. I’m fairly new to PyMC and Bayesian modeling more generally and have been struggling to improve my modeling approach when running into problems with my model (of which there appear to be many).
I am trying to build a logistic regression model for the following use case:
I want to model the probability that a given customer is going to churn (1 if churn, 0 otherwise) from my company. However, the design of my model is a little quirky. I want the churn probability for a given customer to informed by, and updated after, each event I observe for that given customer (for now, an event is simply a product purchase, but could later include returns, complaints, etc.). As an example, I may believe that Customer A has p = 0.5 probability of churning. I then observe Customer A place a really good order with the company, and update my belief of Customer A’s probabilty of churning accordingly (i.e. it would now be lower). Essentially, I am trying to model the impact of a given event within the customer it belongs to (Event is level 1, Customer is level 2). To do this, I want my model to learn what certain events look like for churned customers (churn = 1) and what events look like for non-churned customers (churn = 0).

My data (which unfortunately I cannot share here) is set up as follows: each row is an observed event for a given customer. My target variable is a binary “churn” label which is 1 if that event corresponds to a customer who eventually churns and 0 if it belongs to a customer who does not.

This design makes sense in my head, but I’ve been struggling to write it down in code. I’ve approached this as a logistic regression problem using a Bernoulli distribution for the likelihood. I repurposed some code I found here to do that, although I’m not certain that it’s the appropriate approach.

import arviz as az
import pymc3 as pm
import theano
from statsmodels.formula.api import glm as glm_sm