How Does the Sampler Use Covariate Observed Data?

Hi everyone,
I am trying to understand the way that PyMC sampler draws from an observed random variable acting as a covariate in a regression. I am still a beginner in statistical modeling so I apologize if there are any terminological issues in my question.
Let’s say I have the following model, where I want to put priors (x_mu, x_sigma) on the observed data of the covariate (x) in order to account for potential measurement errors:

x_mu = pm.Normal("x_mu",0,1)
x_sigma = pm.HalfNormal("x_sigma",1)
x = pm.Normal("x",x_mu,x_sigma,observed=x_observed)

a = pm.Normal("alpha",0,1)
b = pm.Normal("beta",0,1)

y_mu = pm.Deterministic("y_mu",a+b*x)
y_sigma = pm.HalfNormal("y_sigma",1)
y = pm.Normal("y",y_mu,y_sigma,observed=y_observed)

My understanding is that, depending on the implementation, the sampler could:

1. use the observed data from X directly to compute the posterior of Y, essentially ignoring the mu and sigma terms for the downstream inference, while separately computing the posterior of X from the given prior/observed data combo. In this scenario, the posterior of X is the same regardless of the values of Y.

2. jointly compute the posterior distributions of both X and Y based on their observed data/priors. In this scenario, the posterior of X depends on the values of Y.

3. do something else that I have not understood.

While I have generally assumed that #2 is what is happening under the hood, I have empirically observed that when I run a model like the below code (computing X without actually doing the regression), the posterior of x is the same as in the model above which includes the regression, which to me indicates that something closer to #1 is happening under the hood.

x = pm.Normal("x",x_mu,x_sigma,observed=x_observed)