How to improve sampling or re-parametrize model

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here, so please forgive me, if the editing is off…

I think I need some help with either re-parametrizing my model or otherwise better understanding sampling, as right now my chains fail to converge.

My model is like this:

or in code:

# Data: 500 parts with 10 failures
nparts = 500
nfail = 10
# observed failures (only sum will be important but I want the coordinates)
y = np.concatenate((np.repeat(1,nfail), np.repeat(0,nparts - nfail)))
# bundle data into dataframe
data = pd.DataFrame({"y": y})

coords = {"parts": data.index.values}

with pm.Model(coords=coords) as stress_distribution_model:
    # priors, further re-parametrization necessary...
    sigma_stress = pm.TruncatedNormal("sigma_stress", mu=1, sigma=2, lower=0.001, upper=10)
    q90_stress = pm.TruncatedNormal("q90_stress", mu=1, sigma=2, lower=0.1, upper=2)
    mu_stress = pm.Deterministic("mu_stress", np.log(q90_stress) - 1.64*sigma_stress)
    # lognormal stress distribution
    stress = pm.LogNormal("stress", mu = mu_stress, sigma = sigma_stress, dims="parts")
    # pfailure is given by invlogit
    x = -5 + 4 * stress
    pfailure = pm.Deterministic("pfailure", pm.math.invlogit(x), dims="parts")
    # likelihood
    failure = pm.Bernoulli("failure", p=pfailure, dims="parts")
    nfailure = pm.Deterministic("nfailure", pm.math.sum(failure))
    # observe only number of failures, not individual parts
    # pm.Potential and pm.DiracDelta do not accept "observed" parameter
    # therefore use normal distribution with small sigma (nfailure is actually discrete)
    pm.Normal("observed", mu = nfailure, sigma = 0.001, observed = nfail)

I already did some re-parametrization using q90_stress instead of mu_stress as top-level variable and before sampling was even worse. My priors look like this

and posteriors like this

Inspection of the traces and energy plots clearly shows lack of convergence: