How to obtain the posterior probability of 2D distribution?

I am doing seismological inversion recently, and pymc helped me a lot. Thanks for providing such a good computing tool. I encountered some problems in practical application. As a beginner, I would like to ask you some questions:

My sampling target is the two-dimensional space of speed-depth. Using Thiessen polygons, I can use three points in this two-dimensional space to build a three-layered velocity model. The horizontal coordinate of each point represents the speed of the layer, and the average of the adjacent vertical coordinates represents the depth of the layer. Each model has a unique identifier. Yesterday I asked how to use pymc to generate an increasing depth sequence. Although it is indeed possible, the mcmc result is not very ideal. I wonder if there is a way to directly sample 3 points (depending on the prior information) directly from the two-dimensional space of speed-depth to calculate the posterior probability under this speed model. Through continuous sampling, the final speed-depth two-dimensional probability is formed (as shown in the figure).

In addition, I would like to ask if the number of model layers can be added to the sampling in this idea, such as a range of 2-4. Because the final result is the two-dimensional space of speed-depth, the overall dimension of the model has not changed.

Hi!

Iā€™m not 100% sure what you mean. You can of have any number of dimensions you like in an observed data. For example, here is an example of using the broadcasting rules to fit a stack of independent regressions all at the same time. Or here is a general example showing how to fit data with a Multivariate Normal.

It would be useful if you could post a little bit more about your model. Do you have a generative model (in math, I mean) that you could share, or a minimal pymc or numpy code snippet showing how you would generate artificial data? Either of these would help clarify your question.