Interpretation of posterior predictive checks for a Gaussian Process

Hi All,

I am new to PyMC and would like to thank all people contributing to PyMC. I enjoy exploring PyMC and will likely switch to PyMC from R-based Bayesian tools.

I have a specific question about the interpretation of the posterior predictive checks (PPC).

First thing first, my model is a simple GP model:

with pm.Model() as model:

if LIKELIHOOD == 'lognormal':
    Lambda = pm.LogNormal("Lambda", mu_logx, sigma_logx, shape=m)

elif LIKELIHOOD == 'truncated_normal':
    normal_dist = pm.Normal.dist(mu=mu_x, sigma=sigma_x)
    Lambda = pm.Truncated("Lambda", normal_dist, shape=m, lower=0, upper=10)
#===============================================================================
# specify the mean function:
#===============================================================================
mu = LinearMean(K = K, Lambda = Lambda)

eta_sq = pm.Exponential("eta_sq", 1.0)
rho_sq = pm.Normal("rho_sq", 3.0, 0.25)

# specify the covariance function:

cov = eta_sq * pm.gp.cov.Exponential(input_dim=len (Y), ls=rho_sq)

# specify the GP:
gp = pm.gp.Marginal(mean_func=mu, cov_func=cov)

if SIGMA_MODEL == 'halfcauchy':
    sigma = pm.HalfCauchy ("sigma", 1)
else:
    sigma = pm.Exponential("sigma", 2.0)

Y_ = gp.marginal_likelihood("Y_", X=Dmat, y=Y, sigma = sigma)

trace = pm.sample(2000, tune=2000, target_accept=0.9, random_seed=RANDOM_SEED,\
                  return_inferencedata = True,
                  idata_kwargs = {'log_likelihood': True})

Then I did the posterior predictive sampling using:

with model:
pp = pm.sample_posterior_predictive(trace, var_names = [ā€˜Y_ā€™],
extend_inferencedata=True, random_seed=RANDOM_SEED)

The result looks like: