Interpreting beta-binomial parameterisation/posterior

Hello all,

I am just getting started with PyMC3, so apologies if this is a basic question!

I am working with some COVID-19 data, and I have for a sample of countries, the number of cases and the number of deaths. I also have two predictors which are thought to influence the number of deaths. I’ve structured my model as a hierarchical beta-binomial, where for each country, the predictors influence the expected value of a beta distribution which is then fed to the likelihood - a fully reproducible example is below:

import arviz as az
import pandas as pd
import pymc3 as pm
import numpy as np
np.random.seed(32)

# Retrieve data
data = pd.read_csv('https://osf.io/pf9te/download', index_col='country')

# Set up model
with pm.Model() as bebi:

# Set priors on linear coefficients
    β0 = pm.Normal('intercept', 0, 3)
    β1 = pm.Normal('male attr', 0, 3)
    β2 = pm.Normal('female attr', 0, 3)

# Prior on variance for beta distribution for each country
    σ = pm.Exponential('Beta Variance', 50)

# Compute mean of each countries beta distribution
    μ = pm.math.invlogit(β0*data['constant'] + β1*data['male_attr'] + β2*data['female_attr'])

# Use the above to create a beta prior
    ps = pm.Beta('predicted % death', mu=μ, sigma=σ, shape=data.shape[0])

# Likelihood is binomial
    y = pm.Binomial('estimated deaths', n=data['cases'].values, p=ps, observed=data['deaths'])

# Inference button
    trace = pm.sample(10_000, tune=1000, cores=8)
    ppc = pm.sample_posterior_predictive(trace, samples=2000)

This seems to make sense - the model returns a sensible looking ppc, but I am still unsure if I have formulated this correctly, so any advice is appreciated!