Nuts-rs: meaning of the parameters in the CpuLogpFunc

I’m not sure this is the right place to ask this, but I can’t find a forum that’s specifically dedicated to nuts_rs. Keep in mind that I’m a rust beginner.

What’s the meaning of the parameters of the logp function below? From the “official example”, the position seems to be the multidimensional vector encoding the N-dimensional vector of parameters of of the function we want to minimize, while the grad is the gradient at that N-dimensional point, right?

impl CpuLogpFunc for PosteriorDensity {
    type LogpError = PosteriorLogpError;

fn logp(&mut self, position: &[f64], grad: &mut [f64]) -> Result<f64, Self::LogpError> {
        // ...
        Ok(...)
    }
}

I’m asking this because I’m getting some bizarre traces for things I’ve been playing with, so maybe my understanding of this is wrong…

1 Like

Hello :slight_smile:

I’m not sure this is the right place to ask this, but I can’t find a forum that’s specifically dedicated to nuts_rs

This is the right place.

What you are saying sounds correct to me. Given some unnormalized density function, the logp function should return the log-density of that distribution evaluated at position, and should write the gradient of the function into grad.

If you can share an example that fails for you, we can try to figure out why. An easy reason would be because that gradient could be incorrect for instance.

Thanks, it was a very stupid error in which I switched X and Y in the data.

The whole thing is part of an attempt to fit bayesian models from Elixir. I can already define models in Elixir and compile them to Stan, but to compile stan models one needs to install Stan and the whole C++ build chain, which I don’t like much… The rust toolchain seems much nicer, and the code much more comprehensible (even though I don’t know much rust, I can see myself learning rust but I definitely can’t see myself learning C++ and the C++ template language).