Prior choice for discrete features - logistic regression

I have been playing around with PyMC for roughly a week now. I have also started listening to @AlexAndorra’s Learn Bayesian Statistics podcast and I must say that intaking all these discussion on Bayesian statistics together with his enthusiasm for it have made me really want to learn and master this art.

I am not a statistician or mathematician so this knowledge comes slowly to me. I am using Python for less than a couple of years and I used sklearn a few times whenever I had a bit of free time to study the Elements of Statistical Learning book.

To the question:

I am currently working on a project to classify a commandline as malicious or not. For this reason, it makes sense to look into Bayesian statistics since: i) prior knowledge can be very helpful and, ii) it helps me better understand what the model is doing.

I started playing with a logistic regression model where I set all priors ~ N(0,1); but given that my features are all discrete values (0 if that word or bigram doesn’t appear in the sample; N otherwise, with N being the count of how many times it appeared) I figured it might be better to use discrete distributions for my priors. The classification was quite OK [4 misclassified], but nothing different from some logistic regression in sklearn (obviously, since I haven’t really used the advantage of Bayesian statistics such as prior knowledge)

orange = malicious, blue = not-malicious, threshold of my classifier

I tried using pm.Bernoulli for my priors, where I could set p to close to 0 for features that are usually benign and p close to 1 for features that are usually malicious. To start, I set all features to p=0.5; but the classification wasn’t good at all. All features had a probability > 0.5 and there was no clear distinction between malicious/benign data.