Statistical Rethinking Ch 3 Q1 Code / observed = data errors / beginner question

I’m a beginner and am working my way through rethinking. I have an issue where I am trying to include data in my models to inform the parameters by using the observed keyword argument but get what appear to be incorrect parameter estimates. I’ve also tried making hierarchical normal models previous to this and have experienced similar issues. If anyone has any tips they would be appreciated. Thanks!

Also I realized that the data got cut out of the screenshot so the previous line of code is:

data = np.array([0,0,0,1,1,1,1,1,1]) #supposed to be binomial data: 6 successes and 9 trials

Edit: For a bit more context, the official solution for the problem is the first problem in this file: pymc-resources/Chapter_3.ipynb at main · pymc-devs/pymc-resources · GitHub

Edit 2: also changed the list to a numpy array

1 Like

If you look carefully at the code in the notebook you linked, they use a Bernoulli distribution, whereas you are using a binomial distribution.

So you’re asking a different question than the one in the example, and the data take on a different interpretation. A Bernoulli distribution gives the probability of observing a success for a single experiment, like flipping a coin. Given this question and your data, it looks like the probability is something like 2/3 (6 successes and 9 trials).

With a binomial, the data are now the number of successes, out of n trials. You are saying, “each of these data are the number of successes out of n trials, what is the probability of success for a single flip?” Given this question, looking at your data, it’s something just below 10%, which the model correctly finds. In this setting, the data are 0/9, 0/9, 0/9, 1/9, 1/9, 1/9, 1/9, 1/9, 1/9.

So change the distribution and you’ll get the same answer as the notebook, but also realize that likelihood functions are ways to ask your data different kinds of questions!

3 Likes

Welcome!