Understanding Arviz's plot_bpv

Hello,
I’m pretty new to Bayesian modeling and the PyMC world. I’m trying understand the graph produced by Arviz’s plot_bpv() shown below. Specifically, I don’t understand the domain of the plot. I understand that the u-value plot is in reference to a uniform distribution spanning [0, 1]. What I don’t understand is how the predicted posterior distribution Y is scaled to this domain. Is it simply that 0 and 1 represent the min & max sampled values from posterior? If so, why does the blue line not show any values in [0, 0.2]?

Furthermore, are there some blog posts or other resources which go in detail about each of Arviz’s Model Checking functions? I’d like to understand the strengths and weaknesses of these functions. Thanks for your help!

The “u_value” kind plot checks p_i := p(y_i* \leq y_i | y), as indicated in the docs: arviz.plot_bpv — ArviZ 0.18.0 documentation.

That is, we first loop over each individual observation, and check, out of all the posterior predictive samples for that observation, what percentage is smaller than the actual observation. Once we have done that we have one number between 0 and 1 per observation, which we treat as samples of a distribution. Moreover, if the posterior predictive follows the same distribution as the actual observations we are doing a probability integral transform which tells us those samples should be uniformly distributed.

In the plot above these samples arw clearly not uniformly distributed which means the model you have can’t be the one that generated your observations.