Discrete distribution question

I am a bit new to pymc3 and probabilistic programming in general. I have a dataset on widgets. The widgets get inspected at a certain frequency and when that happens, the machine that produces widgets is down. We think that the widgets are sampled way too often. For example, if the natural defect rate is 1 in 10 on average, the widgets are getting inspected at 1 in 5.

I want to prove my hypothesis and do so, I am considering pymc3. My thought is

1. Build a pymc3 model with uniformative prior for the defect rate (flat normal)
  2. Calculate the likelihood for defect rate using the daily data
  3. The posterior will show the defect rate distribution.
  4. We will set the inspection frequency such that the chance of seeing a defect rate higher than the frequency will be <=5%

I have daily data for each widget inspection and it’s outcome. Can anyone verify this thought process? Specifically, I am not sure about how I will populate the observed parameter in the likelihood. I think I will pass in the daily defect rate to it, but not sure whether it will be daily or weekly or some other frequency. Can anyone guide me here?

Hi add53-

I suspect that you have a more detailed understanding of the process than what you’ve written down. Could you be a little more explicit?

For instance: you write that “the natural defect rate is 1 in 10 on average.” This, to me, means that any widget, is independent of all others, and has a 10% chance of being defective. This means that the inspection frequency has no bearing whatsoever on the observed defect rate; it will always be binomial(N*r,0.1) with N the number of widgets produced per unit time.

If I were to venture a guess, you’re probably looking for a change in the defect rate; i.e. you want to detect when the machine is producing too many defects, and capture it quickly enough to avoid incurring too much cost. Is this right?