Insurance Loss Reserving Model

Hi Forum,

I am pretty new to Bayesian statistics and pymc3, apologies if I read really bad at it… and thanks for your help anyway!
I am trying to use some hierarchical model in order to determine the distribution of losses incurred month after month by an insurance company. I have found some documentation with models in Stan (which I have never used whilst I quite like Python!) and essentially, the idea is:

• for each cohort, determine a cohort-specific distribution of what can be called a ‘ultimate loss’; by cohort, I mean, a group of insurance policies that have somewhat similar characteristics. Practically speaking, a cohort groups policies issued during the same quarter or year or month. In my case, a cohort is for instance 2019_1 which means, ‘Jan 2019’. There are therefore as many Ultimate_Loss distributions as cohorts. Let’s say the dimension is nb_cohorts.
  • determine an omega and a theta distribution that will be applied to all cohorts, so that the losses we observe as time passes follow the equation Avg_Loss_Cohort_i_Period_k = Ultimate_Loss_Cohort_i * (1-exp(-(k/theta)**omega)),
  • define a sigma distribution so that sigma_i_k = sigma * sqrt(Avg_Loss_Cohort_i_Perod_k) to account for a lower variability of losses for early observations, and where sigma follows a half normal distribution
    -calibrate losses so that losses_i_k follow a gaussian distribution(mu = Avg_Loss_Cohort_i_Period_k, sigma = sigma_i_k)

In practice, the observations for ‘old cohorts’ range from 1 to 20 as we already have 20 months of observations, while for the cohort that is x months old, we only have x months of observation. In other words, for the most recent cohort, we only have one observation. So, whilst time ranges from 1 to 20 for an old cohort, it only takes one value for the most recent one: 1