Poisson Mixture Model & Label Switching

Hello, I’m a newbie when it comes to baysiean modeling, and i’m trying to get a poisson mixture model to work. It samples fine, but the trace looks off, and the centers aren’t where they are found in the data.

Something must be wrong with my model, can anyone help diagnose?

I’ve tried

but am unsure how to port it to a poisson distribution, modified my code to represent

Here is the data generating process:

Here is the model:

Here is the trace:

And here is where it shows the centers to be:
Screen Shot 2022-08-02 at 11.18.40 AM

Thanks for the help.

This is what finally solved it:

with pm.Model() as model_1:

p = pm.Dirichlet('p', np.array([1,1,1]), shape = 3)
    c = pm.Categorical('c', p, shape = o.shape[0])

centers = pm.Uniform('centers',lower = 1, upper = 140 , shape = 3)
    c_i = pm.Deterministic('c_i',centers[c])

obs = pm.Poisson('obs',c_i, observed = o)
1 Like

Hi Jacob,

Thanks for your question. Your solution is correct :slight_smile: You have a three-component mixture model and you need a Dirichlet prior for p rather than three independent uniforms. For others who may encounter this thread, having a Dirichlet prior assures that p.sum() == 1. This is also why you were getting two centers rather than three in your results.

You could also leverage pm.Mixture for mixture problems like this. You wouldn’t necessarily need to define indices (c variable in the code above) and I believe that sampling would be faster. This would be particularly appealing in cases where you’re interested in inference of parameters, such as p and centers here, rather than indices. Here is a link to a Gist that pertains to what I just described with the Poisson mixture example: poisson-mixture.ipynb · GitHub

Hope this helps!

Larry

1 Like