PyMC Syntax Explainer: Why the Sausage is Made like This?

Hello everyone,

I’m a beginner to PyMC and am quickly learning a lot but I’m struggling to generalize the code snippets found in the Example page.

The website has been immensely helpful to learn by example, but I feel like I’m missing a deeper understanding. As I’m branching out on my own I realize I don’t understand how these lines of code connect to each other from an implementation perspective. From trial and error I can fix most of my mistakes but I don’t know WHY these mistakes cause problems with PyMC. Many of my problems are because I’ve given PyMC the correct information, just in the wrong place or in the wrong order for what I want it to do.

Can you all suggest a resource that describes how PyMC works under the hood?

I suspect I will figure this out in time, but I want to see if there’s something that can help me along as I get there. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Welcome!

It can definitely be a bit confusing where all the little bits are specified. Can you give some examples of things you have stumbled over? That might help someone provide some pointers to resources that might help.

Thank you for your response! My most recent problem is a two connected hierarchical models, small dataset here:

School,StudentID,RepeatID,science_test1,science_test2
Jefferson,A,First Try,98.63,96.24
Jefferson,A,Second Try,99.35,109.69
Jefferson,A,Third Try,102.06,94.72
Jefferson,B,First Try,102.75,102.53
Jefferson,B,Second Try,104.93,97.91
Jefferson,B,Third Try,92.75,99.62
Jefferson,C,First Try,108.93,131.58
Jefferson,C,Second Try,98.98,88.41
Jefferson,C,Third Try,92.75,85.96
Jefferson,D,First Try,109.99,120.98
Jefferson,D,Second Try,91.21,85.17
Jefferson,D,Third Try,99.68,97.05
Washington,E,First Try,9.05,3.7
Washington,E,Second Try,0.46,0.85
Washington,E,Third Try,0.68,1.69
Washington,F,First Try,0.15,0.2
Washington,F,Second Try,0.75,0.8
Washington,F,Third Try,0.43,0.46
Washington,G,First Try,1.24,1.35